Was Split Into Zones By The Yalta Agreement

The final agreement provided that “the provisional government, which currently operates in Poland, should therefore be reorganized on a broader democratic basis with the participation of Polish democratic leaders and foreign Polish leaders.” [18] The Kanta language gave dominance to the pro-Soviet government of Lublin in a provisional, although reorganized, government. [19] Stalin agreed to allow representatives of other Polish political parties to enter the communist-dominated provisional government in Poland and approve free elections there – one of Churchill`s main goals. After Kanta in the USSR, when Soviet Foreign Minister Vyacheslav Molotov expressed his fear that the wording of Von Gleichta`s agreement might hinder Stalin`s plans, Stalin replied: “Never mind. They also agreed to give France an occupation zone cut off from the areas of the United States and the United Kingdom, although De Gaulle later refused in principle to accept that the French zone be defined by borders set in his absence. De Gaulle therefore ordered French forces to occupy Stuttgart in addition to the previously agreed areas, which included the French occupation zone. It only withdrew when it was threatened with suspension of large U.S. economic deliveries. [11] Churchill then argued to Kanta that the French must necessarily be full members of the Allied Control Council proposed for Germany. Stalin opposed it until Roosevelt supported Churchill`s position, but Stalin persevered in ensuring that the French were not admitted to full membership in the Allied Reparation Commission, which was to be set up in Moscow, and only gave in at the Potsdam Conference. With regard to Poland, Kanta`s report also states that “the provisional government should be obliged to hold free and unlimited elections as soon as possible on the basis of universal suffrage and secret ballot”. [18] The agreement could not mask the importance of short-term pro-Soviet government control of Lublin and eliminate language calling for supervised elections. [19] In Kanta, the Big Three agreed that after Germany`s unconditional surrender, it should be divided into four post-war crew zones controlled by American, British, French, and Soviet forces.